The Commissioners

The Severn Estuary Commission is made up of a Chair, and 5 additional commissioners.

  • Dr Andrew Garrad CBE


    Andrew is an engineer and businessman and one of the pioneers of the modern wind energy industry. He is regularly voted as one of most influential people in the energy industry. In 1984 he co-founded the consulting company Garrad Hassan (GH) which grew to become the world’s largest renewable energy consultancy, employing 1,000 people in 29 countries when he retired in 2015.

    Previously he has been President of European Wind Energy Association, Chairman of the British Wind Energy Association, now known as Renewables UK, and was awarded a CBE in 2017 for services to renewable energy. Andrew also chaired Bristol’s year as European Green Capital in 2015.

  • Sue Barr


    Sue Barr has decades of experience in offshore energy and engineering industries, and currently is Director of Marine Energy at Simply Blue Group. Sue chairs the UK Marine Energy Council, is Vice-chair of the Global Underwater Hub, a Board member of Marine Energy Wales, and a Non-Executive Director of Marine Power Systems and Pembrokeshire Coastal Forum.

    Previously Sue has been a Board Member for Verdant Power Inc, Scottish Renewables and Renewables UK and served 10 years on the Council of the Marine Renewables Industry Association, Ireland.

  • Peter Davies CBE


    Peter’s background includes roles as Managing Director of Business in the Community, Vice Chair of the UK Sustainable Development Commission, Sustainable Futures Commissioner for Wales, co-founder of Size of Wales, Chair of the Climate Change Commission for Wales and Wales Council for Voluntary Action.

    His current roles include chairing the Dwr Cymru’s Independent Challenge group, Community Energy Pembrokeshire, Foundation for Democracy and Sustainable Development, membership of Audit, Risk and Assurance Committee of the Future Generations Commissioner and community custodian for River Simple.

  • Dr Madeleine Havard


    Madeleine Havard is an environmental scientist who worked in the voluntary and statutory environmental sector and as an academic, lecturing in environmental studies with research interests in conservation and marine and coastal management.

    She has been appointed to a number of national Boards and Advisory Committees, and currently is a member of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority and Chair of Skomer Marine Conservation Zone Advisory Committee.

  • Chris Mills


    Chris Mills is a scientist by training and started his career in 1978 as a Salmon Biologist at the Salmon Research Trust of Ireland. In 1989, he joined the newly formed National Rivers Authority and over the next 23 years worked in a variety of fisheries, general management, policy, and leadership roles finally becoming Director of Environment Agency Wales (2006-2013).

    Now retired, he is currently President and Chair of the Institute of Fisheries Management and Chair of Afonydd Cymru (AC), Chair of Welsh Water’s Independent Environmental Advisory Panel and represent AC on a number of Welsh Government, Natural Resources Wales and Wales Environment Link committees.

  • Dr Nigel Costley


    Nigel Costley was the Regional Secretary of the South West Trade Unionist Congress for 24 years. A former apprentice compositor, Nigel retrained several times over to adapt to a digital world. Elected as union officer for the GMPU, he was involved with the massive changes in the printing and design industries.

    Nigel is a Board Member of the Hereford and Worcester Training and Enterprise Council, one of the first trade unionists to have such a position. He led the formation of the highly successful Graphical Employment and Training Group, run by and for unemployed printing and graphical workers.